Academic Search Elite is a rich resource spanning a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals. This database is sourced with PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDFs are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
Topical Video Content
Contains more than 2,000 news sources from around the country including St Louis Post Dispatch and the Kansas City Star. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
Weekly reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of pressing political or social issues including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Originally created as a means to inform government elected officials about important topics. Covers 1923-present.
A collection of eBooks organized into millions of entries all interconnected by over 100,000,000 links providing access to tens of thousands of encyclopedia and dictionary entries as well as images and audio clips.
Films on Demand is a streaming video database of thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, NOVA, BBC, ABC, CBS, MSNBC, The History Channel, Open University, TEDTalks and WideAngle.
Collection of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Use HeritageQuest to find your ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled.
JSTOR consists entirely of scholarly journal articles from titles in various disciplines. Topics include: archeology, art & art history, Asian studies, biology, botany, business, ecology, economics, education, history, language & literature, law, music, psychology, political science, sociology, and more.
From the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains articles from journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Contains information on controversial topics of current interest. Provides topic overviews, links, full-text popular sources, multimedia, and websites that are carefully selected from thousands of domestic and international sources.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Allows users to visualize trends in writing and culture with data compiled from primary sources, criticism, and analysis (via Literature Criticism Online's holdings). Contains articles from Contemporary Literary Criticism, The New York Times Book Review, Times Literary Supplement, and others.
Grove Art Online is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art. First published as the landmark 34-volume Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner, the content of Grove Art encompasses all aspects of visual culture. It features articles about topics as varied as Fauvism and Frida Kahlo, bibliographies for further research, and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations
With over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars, Grove Music Online (GMO) is the authoritative resource for music research with an ongoing mission to chart the diverse history and cultures of music and musicians from around the globe.
Provides access to emerging and advanced research in various disciplines. Theses and dissertations are available to download in .pdf format for free as part of the open access model, which aims to make scholarly research more readily available.
Social Work Reference Center (SWRC) is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide current evidence-based information to social workers and mental health professionals directly at the point-of-care.