The Regional Arts Commission leads, strengthens and gives voice to a creative community where every citizen can be proud to live, work and play in a world-class region. In short, we are proud of our St. Louis cultural identity and want to do whatever we can to grow, sustain and promote that identity in the future. We are at the forefront of helping transform St. Louis into a more vibrant, creative and economically thriving community through the arts – and want everyone to know just how special the creative community is within the region.
The Missouri Arts Council awards grants to organizations to stimulate the growth,development, and appreciation of the arts in Missouri. This funding makes possible quality arts programming to communities throughout Missouri. In addition to funding, we provide technical assistance in community development, fundraising,marketing, grant writing, arts education, artistic disciplines (visual arts,music, literature, theater, dance, festivals, and film/media) and more.(missouriartscouncil.org)
Critical Mass for the Visual Arts is a local non-profit organization that seeks to foster art in St. Louis and the surrounding region through Artist Stimulus Grants, exhhibitions, discussions, and public art projects. The critical mass list-serv is used widely across the St. Louis region.
Vision of an inclusive community where artists, students and audience members with disabilities have access to the same opportunities as artists, students and audience members who do not have disabilities.Strength in shared resources that we leverage by partnering with diverse entities in the arts and disability communities.Access for people of all abilities to the wonderful resources Missouri has to offer all of its citizens.VSA Missouri, the state organization on arts and disability, was incorporated in August 2009. We are one of a network of VSA affiliates throughout the United States and in 51 countries around the world, affiliated with the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC.
The St. Louis Artists’ Guild is a nationally recognized regional arts center known for community exhibitions, programs, and educational projects for all. It is a resource and network for community artists and an advocate of emerging artists in all disciplines, a force in bringing art to all diverse segments of the community, and seeks opportunities for collaboration with other art organizations.
'The Smithsonian American Art Museum, the nation's first collection of American art, is an unparalleled record of the American experience. The collection captures the aspirations, character, and imagination of the American people throughout three centuries. The museum is the home to one of the largest and most inclusive collections of American art in the world. Its artworks reveal key aspects of America's rich artistic and cultural history from the colonial period to today.' (americanart.si.edu)
'The Smithsonian’s Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden is a leading voice for contemporary art and culture and provides a national platform for the art and artists of our time. We seek to share the transformative power of modern and contemporary art with audiences at all levels of awareness and understanding by creating meaningful, personal experiences in which art, artists, audiences and ideas converge. We enhance public understanding and appreciation of contemporary art through acquisition, exhibitions, education and public programs, conservation, and research. ' (hirshorn.si.edu)
The Saint Louis Art Museum collects, presents, interprets, and conserves works of art of the highest quality across time and cultures; educates, inspires discovery, and elevates the human spirit; and preserves a legacy of artistic achievement for the people of St. Louis and the world. (slam.org)
The Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis presents, supports, and celebrates the art of our time. It is the premier museum in St. Louis dedicated to contemporary art. Focused on a dynamic array of changing exhibitions, CAM provides a thought-provoking program that reflects and contributes to the global cultural landscape. Through the diverse perspectives offered in its exhibitions, public programs, and educational initiatives, CAM actively engages a range of audiences to challenge their perceptions. It is a site for discovery, a gathering place in which to experience and enjoy contemporary visual culture. (camstl.org)
Accredited by the American Association of Museums, Laumeier Sculpture Park is today an institution of international significance. The institution itself is one of a handful of open-air museums around the world, and a unique complement to the cultural landscape of the St. Louis region. Laumeier provides high-quality learning experiences for the greater St. Louis community and for visitors from all over the world. The many changing exhibitions, concerts, educational programs, lectures and special events developed at Laumeier Sculpture Park support the mission of the institution.(laumeiersculpturepark.org)
Established in 1964, Craft Alliance Center of Art + Design provides inspiration and education in contemporary craft to a national community of artists, collectors, students and the art-viewing public. It does this through every creative stage by exhibiting artists' work, educating all levels of students, encouraging art collectors and offering free classes and family programs. (craftalliance.org)
The Sheldon Art Galleries, located in the Emerson Galleries building, features rotating exhibits in six galleries, including photography, architecture, St. Louis artists and collections, jazz history and children's art. Artwork is also featured in The Sheldon's sculpture garden, visible from both the atrium lobby and the connecting glass bridge. (sheldonconcerthall.org)
Through engaging exhibitions, programs, and partnerships with artists, curators, and innovators across disciplines, Pulitzer Arts Foundation strives to inspire both the St. Louis community and international arts audiences to think differently about creativity in daily life. (pulitzerarts.org)
The Mildred Lane Kemper Art Museum, part of the Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts at Washington University in St. Louis, is committed to preserving and developing its art collection and continuing its legacy of collecting significant art of the time; providing excellence in art historical scholarship, education, and exhibition; inspiring social and intellectual inquiry into the connections between art and contemporary life; and engaging audiences on campus, in the local community, across the nation, and worldwide.
Fort Gondo is one of the foundation organizations for St. Louis' ongoing art renaissance. This space serves as a forum for visual art, poetry, and discourse around art and aesthetics in the St. Louis Area.
Gallery 210 is on the University of Missouri- St. Louis campus- it serves as a locus for important artists in and around the metro area such as Tom Huck, Meghan Grubb, and Joe Chesla as well as work from internationally acclaimed artists from Andy Warhol and Zlatko Cosic.
The Luminary is a constellation of ideas and activities: a physical site that opens onto a larger cultural and conceptual space; exhibitions that move through multiple timelines, spaces and forms; music explored as a practice, presence and experience; an equipment library that redistributes tools and creates tangible means for experimentation; residencies with artists, curators and critics meant to test boundaries and continually push forward their individual and collective practice; and wide-ranging projects that critically engage emerging ideas and stretch the definition of the institution itself. (theluminaryarts.com)
White Flag Projects is a not-for-profit alternative art institution established in 2006 to facilitate meaningful exhibitions by progressive international, national, and local artists. (www.white-flag-projects.org)
Specializing in contemporary art, Bruno David Gallery (2005) and Bruno David Projects (2014) have been leading art galleries since their establishment in Saint Louis. Bruno David represents some of the most innovative artists practicing in St. Louis, along with artists of international reputation. The Gallery has two locations. One in Grand Center (Grand Center website) and the other in The Grove neighborhood (The Grove website). In the Grand Center arts district, the Gallery is directly opposite the Pulitzer Arts Foundation and the Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis, and is in close proximity to the Museum of Contemporary Religious Art, Saint Louis University Museum of Art, Sheldon Art Galleries, The Fox Theatre, and Powell Symphony Hall. In the Grove, the gallery is located one block from Manchester Avenue. Bruno David Gallery and Bruno David projects’s art programs introduces new contemporary art to gallery visitors, and is discussed in publications including, Art in America, Art Papers, ArtNet Magazine, and The Wall Street Journal. (brunodavidgallery.com)
In 2003 the Philip Slein Gallery was opened on Washington Avenue in downtown St. Louis by co-owners Philip Slein and Tom Bussmann who share a wide range of interests centering on painting, and are committed to showing the best work regardless of style. In 2011 Philip and Tom developed a partnership with the venerable art dealer Jim Schmidt of Schmidt Contemporary Art. The gallery moved to its current Central West End location in 2012. In 2014 the gallery was included in Steven Zevitas' list of 40 Galleries You Should Know If You Love Paint, published in the Huffington Post.
SOHA Gallery is a delightful little neighborhood spot with an ongoing calendar of shows that always provide a rich aesthetic experience. Gallery Owner/Operator Julie Malone is a painter who's eye as a curator is to be envied.
This is a directory for the Alliance of Black Art Galleries in St. Louis. This organization was formed in 2013. ' The three primary reasons for starting the Alliance are: (1) to identify areas of cooperation and collaboration; (2) to share information of mutual interest; (3) and to express and demonstrate publicly the mutual support the galleries have for each other.'
UrbArts is an excellent neighborhood gallery and performing arts space in North St. Louis, founded by artist/poet MK Stallings. The gallery hosts visual artists, poetry slams (UrbSLAM), film screenings and more.
The Art Institute of Chicago collects, preserves, and interprets works of art of the highest quality, representing the world’s diverse artistic traditions, for the inspiration and education of the public and in accordance with our profession’s highest ethical standards and practices. (artic.edu)
Hyperallergic is a forum for playful, serious, and radical perspectives on art and culture in the world today.Our incisive coverage of art and its discontents has been cited in outlets ranging from The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Guardian, and The Atlantic to The New Yorker, The Nation, WNYC, Gawker, Kottke, Andrew Sullivan, and Felix Salmon, among countless others.(hyperallergic.com)
The Metropolitan Museum of Art is the largest art museum in the United States. The Department of European painting is searchable by artist, title or type of object, country of origin or date of creation. Browse other collections including Asian, Islamic, Greek and Roman art.
Founded by Columbia College Chicago in 1984 as the successor to the 1976 Chicago Center for Contemporary Photography, the museum collaborates with artists, photographers, communities, and institutions locally, nationally, and internationally.
As the preeminent institution devoted to the art of the United States, the Whitney Museum of American Art presents the full range of twentieth-century and contemporary American art, with a special focus on works by living artists. The Whitney is dedicated to collecting, preserving, interpreting, and exhibiting American art, and its collection--arguably the finest holding of twentieth-century American art in the world--is the Museum's key resource. The Museum's signature exhibition, the Biennial, is the country's leading survey of the most recent developments in American art.